top of page

Non-Toxic Hair Series - Essential Oil Dry Shampoo

Updated: May 7, 2020

My hair is my nemesis. Y’all - like I live in South Florida (hello, humidity) & I have thick & wavy hair. I was the queen of the diffuser in High School & gave it up for mostly straight hair in college when I was in Virginia. Now that I’m back home & also hitting the gym almost every morning, I had to get my hair under control.

Sooooo I am the queen of dry shampoo. Like really - story time real quick. We have a new male principal at our school this year. He is a little bit older (like his daughter is in her late 20’s like me) and wasn’t really into the dry shampoo vibes that I was throwing out. I was telling him how long I have gone between washing my hair & now he will joke about “how longs it been since you washed your hair?” & I’m not sure I’ve ever been more proud of anything in my life (jokes, obvi)

One day I was talking to a friend about the switch to non-toxic shampoo. I was talking about how I hoped the detox process was quick because my hair was having a hard time detoxing. She asked me about the other products I was using…oh you mean like regular dry shampoo & salon leave in conditioner? You mean my hair can’t detox if I’m using non-toxic shampoo, but then filling my hair with toxic products right out of the shower.

Enter my non-toxic hair recipes that I will share in the coming days that I have used as I switch. Now I will say that I can’t guarantee everything works the same for you, because I have thick, wavy hair, but I HIGHLY recommend a non-toxic hair regimen if possible. It’s worth it.


Let's make it together!



This is my dry shampoo recipe that I adapted from the Young Living website. You’re gonna wanna save this one for sure!

Essential Oil Dry Shampoo 1/4 cup arrowroot powder (can use cornstarch) 1 tablespoon baking soda 2 drops cedarwood essential oil 2 drops tea tree essential oil (Sometimes I also add in 2 drops of rosemary essential oil)

Mix it all together & add to your hair at night before you go to bed for a fresh, not greasy look the next morning

Application tip: use a makeup brush to dab it on your roots or put the whole mixture into a salt shaker & shake that thing babeeee If you try this out, let us know by tagging us! ❤️ you can also watch this step by step on our IGTV ❤️


Why did we choose these oils?

Cedarwood: helps get the tangles out & restores thinning hair

Tea Tree: promotes a healthy scalp


If you try it, let us know by tagging us on Instagram or replying to this blog post! We love when y'all make the things we share!


Xoxo,

Marc & Barb


* Marc & Barb Design Co is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com! That being said, we only share products that we use in our homes & can vouch for the quality of. We just want to share this with you for easy ordering & use in your home.




5 views0 comments
bottom of page